JUST A FEW ROCKS IN WILTSHIRE….

EDIT_P9096689_tonemapped

The Stones… seen under a HDR sky…

The sat-nav led me a merry dance this evening in my drive from Trowbridge to Newbury

I spotted one of the Wiltshire White Horses earlier and grabbed a couple of distance shots with my phone-cam, but also found myself passing Stonehenge around 40 minutes later. I was stuck in a line of cars with no obvious parking places apparent to me, and besides – I knew without my Olympus, any phone effort would be a bit of a disappointment….

Besides – I knew I had these shots in the bag from a visit we made in 2013, and on this day anyway I realized I could not better them.

EDIT_P9096714_tonemapped-2

Brooding monument…

But as I drove I realized that these are not the only ancient monuments which have been left by mankind across the years (…and I’m not talking about the A303 either!).

Scattered across the landscape in all directions are the barrows – ancient burial mounds left by the people’s who lived in the area at the time when the stones were laid out. The mounds are enormous heaps of local chalkstone, soil and turf which were laid on top of the burial or cremation site during the Bronze Age.

As I drove through the landscape, noticing just how many of these ancient artifacts were still in evidence, it is perhaps not surprising that they represent the highest concentration of barrows in the whole of Britain.

You can find further information on the landscape around Stonehenge by checking out the following article on the website of English Heritage and at the link below…

STONEHENGE LANDSCAPE

Click on any of my photographs to check out larger version on my Flickr photostream.

EDIT_P9096711_tonemapped

Watching and waiting….

All content copyright G.Seaman (2015)

2 thoughts on “JUST A FEW ROCKS IN WILTSHIRE….

Leave a Reply

